Skip to content

“Blaxploitation” In the Hood

March 31, 2008

educationofsonnycarsonlc4.jpg

      Around ’88, I got into “blaxploitation” movies(ex. “Superfly”,”Cornbread, Earl and me”, “Shaft”, anything w/ Antonio Vargas in the credits lol) . While in Harlem visiting some family(I like to call it my second home) I got put on to a video store that had a large selection specific to this genre. As I was looking around the store, I started chatting it up with the owner and “happened” to let him know, “Um frum Brooklyn”(you know us Brooklynites WILL let you know we’re from the borough at ANY given oppurtunity lol).  He then asked if I ever saw “The Education of Sonny Carson” and stated if I didn’t, it would be a good movie to check out. To be quite frank, in my pre-teen mind, the title did not sound like something I would be interested in. But when the person telling you has a suit on that’s some type of powder blue hue, matching shoes and looks like when they walk, theme music plays in the background…You MIGHT, just MIGHT want to listen to their suggestion of a good “blaxploitation” movie. So I took heed, bought “JD’s Revenge” starring Glynn Turman along with “The Education of Sonny Carson” for a total of 16.00. Next was the trek to the 2-train on Lenox, headed to planet Brooklyn. My stop was Atlantic ave.; from there I walked up Hanson pl. past the humongous empty lot that is now Atlantic Center Mall and went home.

                  In the 60’s-70’s, gangs were prevalent in the borough and all around the city. Some of the toughest gangs in Brooklyn were The Jolly Stompers, Tomahawks, Black Spades, Pure Hell and The Bishops. Depending on who you talk to, the immediate area of Clinton Hill was The Bishops or Jolly Stompers territory. Over the years I’d heard various stories from this era, either from uncles, my father or oldhead family friends. It was always interesting to me, I’d paint pictures in my head to imagine the stories being told of this time period. After watching “The Education of Sonny Carson”, the paint brush in my mind was no longer needed. This movie is a snap shot of the gang era that preceded my conception.

             Now it will NEVER be referred to as a great film(although one of the scenes made The American Film Institute’s book of great moments in film history), but as far as “blaxploitation” flicks go, it’s pretty good.  The fact that it was low budget, employed almost all non-actors(never done before…ALL the gang members in this movie w/ exception of the lead are real..one of the cops is really part of NYPD) contributes to it feeling like a documentary at times. The gangs named previously in this post are even credited at the end of the movie minus The Bishops. To see 1973 Bed-Stuy along with the real inhabitants, check out this movie, even if the genre is not your preference. Pictured above is a scene in which the lead character is being initiated into “The Lords” gang, it was shot in Fort Greene park.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. flatbushman permalink
    April 2, 2008 4:25 pm

    That’s a good look my son, I have that flick in my collection, you’re right it’s pretty much a historical doccument of that time in the hood…

  2. bknesto permalink
    April 2, 2008 5:04 pm

    Yes’zir…I’m going to post some old school flicks of Fort Greene park later.

  3. April 4, 2008 4:08 am

    cant for get the ebony dukes gang from back then

  4. August 8, 2008 9:32 pm

    Thanks for putting me on to this film bknesto, I just got done watching it. It was too too real. It had me crying. Then I started getting pissed off because I started perusing the net for reviews & commentary on the film & whatnot, and I see nothing but criticism. I should’ve known, because every film that resonates with me and that I like or love, seems to get low marks on imdb and similar sites. Hmm, wonder why….

  5. Kev permalink
    December 31, 2008 2:37 am

    Being from NY I immeadiately connected. What struck me was when one of the Lords was telling Sonny what happened to some of his other gang members. He said “..yeah the police cut him down to the pavement…like 50 slugs in him” This is 1974 NYPD. Can anyone say “Sean Bell”!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

