Skip to content

Hello fellow Brooklynites, Bloggers, and all others…

March 24, 2008

14clintonhillcoop.jpg  Welcome to flight Clinton Hill chill, I am your pilot BKnesto. What were going to do here at Clinton Hill Chill blog is take you on a journey through the past, present and possibly the future of Brooklyn(primarily Clinton Hill, Fort Greene & Bed-Stuy). So buckle up and enjoy your flight!

   Let me also give a little background information on myself. I am a fourth generation Clinton Hiller/Brooklynite born in the mid/late seventies. The first place I called home was on South Portland between Lafayette and Dekalb. From there my family and I moved to Clinton and Myrtle avenue before finally settling for good up the block on Clinton between Lafayette and Greene avenues. Since 1999 I’ve lived about 4 blocks away(still in the hood but I prefer to leave out the street) with my three daughters and significant other(I WILL make her an honest woman soon I promise!). Currently I have two uncles, 3 aunts, 11 cousins in the hood and thats with leaving out their kids…plus too many lifelong friends to mention.
 
 I was inspired to do this blog after reading a few places that the neighborhood in which I grew up was the number one “bloggiest nabe” in the country. My initial thoughts were “Wow who knew there was so much to blog about in Clinton Hill” then it went to “Well if I didn’t know that there were so many blogs about my area, imagine how many other lifelong residents don’t”. It then hit me that of these blogs(I looked up a few), none of them spoke from the perspective of a lifelong resident or the perspective of someone who’s family had been in the hood for generations. To tell you the truth, most of the people writing these blogs had not even been in the area ten years…not that there’s anything wrong with that. I just want to bring a different perspective from the eat out everynight night, organic grocery shopping, latte loving crowd(PLEASE don’t take offense). The neighborhood is diverse and the blogsphere should reflect this diversity.
 The plan is to share with you the good, the bad and the ugly about the area from the viewpoint of yours truly.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2008 5:33 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. March 25, 2008 1:30 am

    Your perspective is sorely needed in the bloggiest ‘hood. Thanks for jumping into the pool!

  3. joe permalink
    March 25, 2008 2:04 am

    Came by from CHB. I’d qualify as one your newer neighbors I guess and look forward to hearing some history.

  4. Perch permalink
    March 25, 2008 11:58 am

    Sounds great, and much needed. Looking forward to reading what you’ve got to say.

  5. March 25, 2008 1:17 pm

    As someone who’s new to the neighborhood and writes a blog about it, I’m really looking forward to read your thoughts. Good luck, and I’ll be reading.

  6. Adellevis permalink
    March 25, 2008 2:23 pm

    BKnesto I’m also looking forward to reading what you are going to share. You know, everytime I see a picture of that train over Myrtle Ave it boggles my mind.

  7. DowningbyLaw permalink
    March 25, 2008 2:30 pm

    I also look forward to reading your blog hopefully it will indeed be a different perspective.

  8. BrooklynZoo permalink
    March 25, 2008 3:21 pm

    I’m looking forward to a blog written by a native Brooklynite!

  9. waverly permalink
    March 25, 2008 3:49 pm

    This sounds like a great benefit, especially to the newer residents of the neighborhood, such as myself. Thanks for sharing your perspective on our great slice of NYC.

  10. Guytina permalink
    March 25, 2008 4:05 pm

    GOOD LOOK…inform the neichborhood

  11. Skeets McDonald permalink
    March 25, 2008 8:23 pm

    Cool.

    Different perspectives are always good. Even though I live and work in the nabe I’m not part of the eating out every night, organic grocery store shopping, latte drinking crowd either.

    Here’s hoping you, and the Nabe, can find a balance between blending the old with the new.

    Skeets

  12. March 26, 2008 1:08 am

    Kudos to ya !!! I like your thoughts. Finally someone who has been around. I look forward to reading your blog. I wasnt born here but I feel as if I could have…You must have been around 7 when I moved in to the hood and have been here ever since, so I can relate to your history. Thank You !

  13. March 26, 2008 7:12 am

    Hey welcome to the bloggesphere, always good to hear from a new voice especially an ol’skooler.
    best
    -brooklynborn

  14. Moonraker permalink
    March 26, 2008 2:08 pm

    Looking forward to all you will share –
    Good Luck and much thanks

  15. ttma permalink
    March 26, 2008 11:19 pm

    Great blog. I’ve lived in Fort Greene for 10 years and consider myself an old timer. Ha! I have a lot to learn from you.

    Gotta say, the way the neighborhood’s changing is bugging me. How many organic grocery stores do we need?

  16. gigi permalink
    March 27, 2008 12:44 am

    Well I am glad we have another blog about Clinton Hill. You are bringing back cherished memories for me with the stories you tell. I enjoy them..You should write a book.

  17. drkman permalink
    March 27, 2008 12:47 am

    Cool blog. It’s going to be nice to read about Clinton Hill. Man, I didn’t even know that the Country House was still open and totally forgot that BKNY used to be called Reign. Keep on blogging.

  18. All business permalink
    March 27, 2008 1:21 am

    Man, I’m so, so happy that you put this together! As one of the youngsters who came up with you from childhood here in Clinton Hills (that’s what? hmmm, close to 3 decades), just reading the beginnings of this blog is sending chills down my spine! You are bringing me back for real!! Thanks!

  19. March 28, 2008 8:39 pm

    your blog is bringing back some fond memories… i lived on clinton ave btw lafayette and greene from 1986-1990. back then my neighbor and friend downstairs nearly went insane trying to convince time warner to bring cable tv service to brooklyn, and used to complain about how the associated supermarket on waverly had anti-freeze but no toothpaste. neighborhood newsstands wouldn’t carry the ny times, apparently they didn’t think anyone would be interested (they were wrong, but we had to buy it in manhattan). the only cuisine available was pizza and chinese food served from behind plexiglass.

    it’s hard to explain to newer arrivals what clinton hill used to be like and why i miss it. so, cool that you’re here with stories that take us all back to that time and place. thanks for blogging!

  20. abdur rahman permalink
    April 4, 2008 1:35 am

    it’s always good to reminisce.. what up bknesto.. it’s abs.. checking in from los angeles.. i wouldn’t be able to do what i do out here if it wasn’t for where i came from..

    let’s keep the knowledge droppin’ people need to know.. so many stories run through my mind everyday.. i base my decisions upon experiences i’ve been through in my life..

    for sure, i had and will have a lot more to come.. bk stand up!!
    abs

    BECOME LEGENDARY..

    “LOOK ME IN THE EYE, IT’S OK IF YOU’RE SCARED. SO AM I, BUT WE’RE SCARED FOR DIFFERENT REASONS..
    I’M SCARED OF WHAT I WONT BECOME, AND YOU’RE SCARED OF WHAT I COULD BECOME.

    LOOK AT ME, I WONT LET MYSELF END WHERE I STARTED. I WONT LET MYSELF FINISH WHERE I BEGAN..
    I KNOW WHAT IS WITHIN ME EVEN IF YOU CANT SEE IT YET. LOOK ME IN THE EYES, I HAVE SOMETHING MORE IMPORTANT THAN COURAGE.

    I HAVE PATIENCE, I WILL BECOME WHAT I KNOW I AM..”

  21. April 9, 2008 6:29 pm

    Well done!

  22. August 7, 2008 9:44 pm

    just fyi I am a newcomer (3 1/2 years) and though I can not really afford organic, I do drink the latte but that’s because I’m latina/spanish & that’s what we like for breakfast 😉

Leave a Reply

