Skip to content

Children’s Community of Clinton Hill

April 16, 2008

Here’s a class picture of my nursery/pre-k class in 1979. As you can see it’s like a human kiddie crayola box. The Childrens Community of Clinton Hill nursery school, located on waverly between dekalb and lafayette, was very diverse and a reflection of the neighborhood at the time. You had black, white, east asian, latino and mixed kids. The teachers were great and really involved with the children as well as the community as a whole. They would throw events like roller skating, kiddie discos(it was the 70’s!) and various others. I still keep in touch with a few people in this picture and one of the teachers also taught me in Junior High School.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. DowningbyLaw permalink
    April 16, 2008 4:55 pm

    Damn, which one is you?

  2. bknesto permalink
    April 16, 2008 5:11 pm

    I’m in the top last row, fourth one from the right w/ the vest and tie on. Thank god my parents didnt violate me fashion wise like some of my classmates lol!

  3. April 16, 2008 5:57 pm

    Love it!

  4. flatbushman permalink
    April 16, 2008 6:20 pm

    Wow you goin back sun. I have a pic just like that from my days at Learner’s Haven in Flatbush! LOL.

  5. April 17, 2008 12:37 am

    im the one with the mop top with fredy shirt and blue overalls.

  6. little Z permalink
    April 17, 2008 1:16 am

    That dude on the left has his shirt open, lol

  7. mamalou permalink
    April 17, 2008 3:23 pm

    I love all of your postings! It is so refreshing to see people keeping it real without (directly or indirectly) putting other people down. The historical perspective you bring to the blog is so much fun to read about.I’ve been in the hood for about fourteen years and don’t plan on ever leaving. Thanks.

  8. Beeasy permalink
    April 27, 2008 3:55 am

    Cool my fro aint as bad as the twins. Holla at me Ern!

Leave a Reply

