Skip to content

Notorious The Movie

April 29, 2008

I noticed today on the way to work all the camera crews on fulton street. They’ve started shooting for the movie “Notorious” and I snatched a few pics of the rapper Gravy who wil be playing Biggie. Also in the cast will be Angela Basset as Biggie’s mom Voletta Wallace, Derek Luke(the lead from Antoine Fisher) who will be playing Puffy. I think the short young lady in the pics by the door is playing Li’l Kim. I give it to them, they’re definitely trying to keep it authentic with the old store signs and even stripped down the wall around the corner to show the old graffiti!

              

10 Comments leave one →
  1. DowningbyLaw permalink
    April 29, 2008 4:15 pm

    What up Bk!
    I’m hoping this will be over soon very soon. I’m plagued at work also because i work in a building that has 3 well known photo studios that are frequently used for shoots, last week it was this biggie crew, can’t seem to get away.
    Every weekend or so on downing we get the Biggie wanna bees spitting garbage lyrics and reminiscing on his memory and so on, these cats have been around since I moved in 99, 9 yrs of bullshittin on my corner talkin about record deals and crap that never happened or will happen, make them go away bk!

  2. bknesto permalink
    April 29, 2008 7:54 pm

    Haha I probably know the kids…or their big brother or father!!

  3. April 30, 2008 2:29 am

    So they making a movie about a thug .GREAT !

  4. April 30, 2008 3:10 am

    y’all check out them rat-a-tat remixes of some biggie shit- very nice!

  5. Alex permalink
    April 30, 2008 3:37 pm

    why black and white photos?

  6. bknesto permalink
    April 30, 2008 4:20 pm

    Alex,
    I was in a rush to work and didnt check my camera settings, I just started snapping away. And Hi, yes they are making a movie about Biggie…Just like movies/documentaries, etc. have been made about John Gotti, Paul Castellano, Meyer Lansky, Bugsy Seigel, Dutch Shultz, FranK Costello, Henry Hill, Lucky Luciano and Al Capone…All of whom have cause more bloodshed and did more “thugging” then l’il ole Biggie Smalls…Get a grip man…

  7. DowningbyLaw permalink
    April 30, 2008 4:59 pm

    Until bruvas are truly out there renting movies like “the great debaters”, we don’t need another thug rags to riches movie. I wish that every time a garbage movie targeted at us came out we would get a more realistic positive flick to counter but then again we are lead to believe we only want garbage- how bout you BK you want more garbage for your youngins to see?(I’m a parent of a 15yr old lil lady)

  8. bknesto permalink
    April 30, 2008 5:35 pm

    My kids see what I deem appropiate, so the Soul Planes, Little Man, White Girls type movies get ZERO play in my household(we did all watch the great debaters). We don’t even watch BET in my house! But let’s not give too much credence to these movies. It’s bigger issues out here then what hollywood executives CHOOSE to green light.

  9. May 13, 2008 2:56 am

    i like derek luke a lot. i only first saw him as boobie miles in friday night lights.

  10. May 21, 2008 3:05 pm

    i give em props for tryin like some others have done too latly in doing the past right….but my trained eye really becomes my own downing. i cant stop in movies looking for screwups like DORITOES from now in stores suppossedly in the early 80’s and always the UNchanging of the crosswalk lights back to the oldschool, plus the NOT wripping off of some to me obvious stickers of today on lamp posts. o well, i am a born critic, accept me or just kill me! =/

Leave a Reply

