Skip to content

The Huxtables in Fort Greene

May 12, 2008

Now if you’re in my age demographic or even a little younger, I’m almost positive that nine times out of ten, at eight o’clock on a Thursday night, you were in front of the boob tube eagerly awaiting to watch “The Cosby Show”. After watching a sitcom for various years, you’re prone to notice certain things, that other viewers may or may not pick up on.  One thing I noticed quite early, was that whenever the setting was in a school/community center/etc., before they would go to the studio shot, there was always video footage of the outside of a school(It was ALWAYS the SAME school!).  The school being shown was P.S.20 right here in Fort Greene. It was always shot from the backside on Clermont between Willoughby and Dekalb.  The front entrance of P.S.20 on Adelphi has “The Clinton Hill School” adorned on top of it’s doors, which was always weird to me being that it’s dead set in Fort Greene, but it also let’s you know that there was never a definitive divide amongst most common people, when it comes to the two neighborhoods.

       On another note, I’m of the belief that if “The Cosby Show” were being started as a sitcom in 2008, the upwardly mobile Huxtables would DEFINITELY live in Fort Greene. You can just imagine Spike Lee, dropping in for a guest appearance, and the jazz loving Dr.Huxtable making reference to the many jazz musicians who have resided in the hood! How many agree?!!

      

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim permalink
    May 12, 2008 5:37 pm

    I remember that once they filmed a church scene at the Cadman Church at Lafayette & Clinton, and, that for short while, Malcom Jamal Warner lived on Lafayette near Carlton.

  2. bknesto permalink
    May 12, 2008 6:01 pm

    I remember that too!! Yeah Malcolm moved to Bklyn Heights after living on Lafayette. He moved around the corner from a friend of mine on Joralamen…we played hoops a few times.

  3. Mami permalink
    May 12, 2008 9:17 pm

    This is a great picture! Although I didn’t grow up in the neighborhood, reading your blog makes me wish I did. I can see that these streets hold such fond memories for you & you have a certain connection that I can only only admire. I’m happy that my children are growing up in this neighborhood and will hold the same kind of memories of home as you do. I love reading about the history of the neighborhood (from your perspective) which makes me appreciate it even more so. Keep it up!

  4. la duchessa permalink
    May 12, 2008 11:36 pm

    i agree… cliff huxtable would have proudly called fort greene home!

    didn’t they use one of the brownstones on clinton avenue as their exterior home shot?

  5. '93Technite permalink
    May 13, 2008 1:10 pm

    It always looked to me like it was shot in Brooklyn Heights. I would love to think it was Clinton Hill or Fort Greene though. Never recognized PS 20 in the school shots.

  6. miconian permalink
    May 13, 2008 3:32 pm

    Interesting. Growing up in Kansas City, I watched that show with my family every week, but I doubt I could have even told you what state it took place in.

    Things are different now…my understanding of Fort Greene has been fleshed out now.

  7. flatbushman permalink
    May 13, 2008 4:10 pm

    Yeh I always had the feeling they were in brooklyn heights too, but yeh They’d prolly be in Ft. Green or Park Slope today…

  8. bknesto permalink
    May 13, 2008 7:06 pm

    I believe the exterior home shot was in bklyn heights but trust me the school shot was DEFINITELY P.S.20! There’s only one public school in bklyn heights and thats P.S.8, which I happened to attend. I think it still comes on Nick at Night on Nicklodeon, check it if you have a chance.

  9. May 13, 2008 8:38 pm

    Nice!

    The exterior home was actually shot in the W Village.

  10. la duchessa permalink
    May 13, 2008 11:50 pm

    it is my firm belief that cliff would pick fort greene over park slope today.

    in related news, i used to love lisa bonet’s style on that show. i give her sole credit for the “great hat phase of 1987”.

  11. May 15, 2008 3:07 am

    This is funny because I just researched Cosby Show locations the other night, but I couldn’t find info on the school! I was wondering about that! Since the exterior of their house was shot in the West Village, I was wondering if that’s where the school was as well.

    But the nabe they were actually supposed to be living in was Brooklyn Heights.

    10 St. Luke’s Place in Manhattan is the location for the exterior of their house.

  12. bknesto permalink
    May 15, 2008 2:41 pm

    Yeah I think it was common knowledge they were based in bklyn heights…thats why I said IF it were being started as a sitcom in 2008 I think the Huxtables would live in fort greene. If anyone wants to take bets about the school, let me know lol..catch it on Nick at Night!

  13. Geezer permalink
    May 16, 2008 2:18 pm

    I was under the impression that their home exterior was in Prospect Heights, not Brooklyn Heights. Their church WAS the Cadman Memorial church on Clinton Ave. though. Too bad it’s not hosting another TV sitcom though – the place could use the income. Needs maintenance badly.

  14. illest permalink
    May 18, 2008 3:43 am

    i went to ps 20 and played ball there many times in the late 80s and 90s.

  15. May 21, 2008 3:00 pm

    dang! ive lived up the block from their for 30 yrs and ive never noticed that when i was watchin the show….althought im sure someone prob told me at some point back in the day but it never registered in my head!?

Trackbacks

  1. ClintonHillBlog

Leave a Reply

