Skip to content

“Pop was smooth, from his top to his shoes..”

May 14, 2008

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s two pictures of Shaft in Brooklyn…Uhhh I mean my pops in Brooklyn in 1971 lol.  As I get older I see more and more of my fathers features when I look at my reflection; BUT I have a LONG way to go before I will be as smooth as he is!! In the first picture, he’s on South Portland, in the second he’s on the Brooklyn Bridge.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Bree permalink
    May 14, 2008 8:19 pm

    I am confused. Is this a picture of Richard Roundtree or not? And is he really your dad? If this isnt, he is surely his double.Wow.

  2. bknesto permalink
    May 14, 2008 8:29 pm

    No it’s not Richard Roundtree, I was joking. It’s just my dear ol’ dad!!

  3. flatbushman permalink
    May 16, 2008 4:47 pm

    AHAHAHAH! Wow, thas some pimp shit right there sun. That’s so wild, I definitely see the resemblence to you!

  4. kyle permalink
    May 16, 2008 5:03 pm

    awesome!

  5. la duchessa permalink
    May 16, 2008 10:56 pm

    i am pretty sure my dad was not that styling in the early 70s. Although… there is an entire male population in williamsburg striving to keep that particular look alive!

  6. bknesto permalink
    May 16, 2008 11:43 pm

    la duchessa,
    I’ve been told on a few occasions that I’ve jacked Pops style, I just tell ppl that its innate. On another note my pops wanted me to point out that this was ’71 before shaft came out, so he didn’t jack Roundtrees style lol.

  7. May 20, 2008 3:37 pm

    i hope you/your dad still has that jacket!

  8. May 21, 2008 2:58 pm

    Thats an “O SNAP” in my book!!!

  9. June 10, 2008 4:22 pm

    Hey CHC!
    I just stopped by to check out your blog. I remember you from the blogfest shoutout and that you started your blog about the same time that I started mine. (And because you announced that you are a born and raised Brooklynite -like me!) Looking good baby!
    Anyway, your dad rocks! You should be proud to inherit his finesse.
    Cheers,
    Flatbush Pigeon

Leave a Reply

