Skip to content

Approaching Storm in the ‘Hood

July 1, 2008

     

 

          Two weeks ago on the summer solstice night of friday June, 20th the residents of Clinton Hill were treated  to an impomptu concert on the corner of Putnam and Grand aves. Fresh of winning their 19th contest in a row, The Approaching Storm Marching Band jumped out their charter bus and began to rock to the delight of many in attendance. Consisting of children between the ages of 9-19 years old, The Approaching Storm Marching Band is a non-profit group led by director Sergio M. Carter. , who has dubbed them, the only southern style marching band in the northeast

          The randomness of getting a great show on the corner is the kind of spontaneity that keeps my love affair with this neighborhood, this borough and city thriving. I purposely waited awhile to post about this because I was HOPING someone would have atleast mentioned it on other blogs or forums…not a whisper. Which is ironic considering the band was louder than gun shots, on the same stretch where Councilwoman Leticia James not too long ago had a press conference about gun violence and happened to be around the corner from one Brooklyn’s most prominent bloggers…These teens weren’t “marauding” though…You know what I will leave it at that!! Here’s more pictures at the bottom, they drew a hell of a crowd. For Band info contact the director Sergio Carter at: S.Carter19@yahoo.com

8 Comments leave one →
  1. kyle permalink
    July 1, 2008 8:58 pm

    I heard it but could not see it. I wondered what it was. Sounds pretty awesome.

  2. bknesto permalink
    July 1, 2008 9:05 pm

    Yeah man..these kids were good!! I hope it leads to college scholarships for most of them..these type of bands are the norm across the mason-dixon line but rare up north.

  3. Lothar permalink
    July 2, 2008 12:46 am

    I went out and watched. It was inspiring and beautiful. I hope they come back and enlighten us with their music and spirit again and again.

  4. NumberSix permalink
    July 2, 2008 2:33 pm

    No mention of the Jackie Robinson Steppers? I know it’s one neighborhood over, but come on man! They’ve been doing this for years in Bed-Stuy and gave Kerry Washington her breakthrough role.

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0234407/

  5. bknesto permalink
    July 2, 2008 2:38 pm

    haha I LOVE that movie…she did a great job!! I didn’t know they we’re still around.

  6. July 4, 2008 4:11 am

    Damn, I would have loved this. I was out of town!

  7. July 4, 2008 11:40 pm

    Hey, that was cool as hell. I heard the drums from Classon and couldn’t figure it out… when it got there, well you know it was amazing.

    I was inspired and wrote my account of the night, it’s been on my blog, with some pics, from my angle on it. I think my blog is new to folks so that could be why you haven’t seen it. feel free to check it. peace.

    http://umbrooklynborn.blogspot.com/2008/06/putnam-parade-real-life-bk-drumline.html
    -ubb

  8. huck permalink
    July 8, 2008 2:42 pm

    Thanks ClintonHill Chill for accentuating the positive on Clinton Hill, especially given the chorus of negativity that has been broadcasted on other blogs about the Hill in the last couple of months. Its refreshing to be reminded about how special a community our hood is.

Leave a Reply

