Skip to content

CHC meets CHB

July 8, 2008

 

         Last thursday I had the pleasure of meeting lesterhead of Clinton Hill Blog. When I firsted started Clinton Hill Chill I emailed lesterhead to ask if I could be added to her blog roll…She did me one better by making a post linking readers directly to my blog.  Since starting it we have coresponded a few times via email and lesterhead was always helpful with my inquiries. Recently we decided it would be be cool to meet up for a drink, to place faces with the names.  I think I’ve said it before, the cyber thing is cool…great even, but person to person interaction is what makes a neighborhood communal.

         We decided to meet at Mirrors on Grand, I told her I’d be there about 7pm and she could arrive anytime after that, but when 8:30 hit I thought maybe she was a little apprehensive then changed her mind(translation in Brooklyn-speak..“shorty was scared” lol). About five minutes later I get tapped on my shoulder, we greet each other, ordered drinks then began to kick it and converse.  The conversation went from the neighborhood to our personal histories, to future collaborative efforts, common people we knew in the ‘hood…and a few things in between. Before you knew it, four hours had elapsed!! PEOPLE this is a PERFECT example of a longtime resident and new coming TOGETHER to not only socialize, which is a good thing, but to also try to come up with ideas for things that can be inclusive to all in the community.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. CDawgg permalink
    July 8, 2008 4:39 pm

    Why was she an hour and a half late? Rude!

  2. July 8, 2008 10:27 pm

    love that you two got together!!! looking forward to some CHC/CHB events in the future.

    love this neighborhood for real.

  3. August 7, 2008 9:38 pm

    love this post, first time I read this blog – I got here via outside in – and it’s great!!!!! I live in the neighborhood too 😉

  4. MOG permalink
    August 22, 2008 4:13 pm

    I have been sooooo busy lately…. This is late comment…. Thank you and Lesterhead for poppin in…. Had a great time with CHC/CHB…. Ya’ll are the GREATEST… this is what make Cliinton Hill / Ft. Greene the Best…. people…. your site is growing…. Keep up the good work…..

Leave a Reply

